TCP Socket Termination

In the latest version of the desktop application, we decided to add a background feature to close all TCP sockets when you connect to the VPN. A TCP socket is an active connection between your computer and whatever web-connected service you are interacting with. Keeping TCP sockets open can be an issue sometimes because after you connect to the VPN, the existing sockets are for your actual IP, not the VPN IP that you just started using and so you might have some issues using sites or services. That's why we decided to close these sockets upon connection to the VPN so that they can be properly reset to the VPN IP.

Unfortunately, some applications do not handle this event properly so when Windscribe closes the TCP socket for that connection, whatever application was using that socket would end up causing a CPU usage spike and in turn could cause issues with using your computer.

Since then, we updated the Windscribe app to still close the sockets as it did before but it also monitors CPU usage to see if there was a significant spike after making a VPN connection. If that happens, the warning below will come up telling you that an application or service on your PC is using a high amount of CPU and it could potentially be due to the fact that we closed its TCP socket. The warning lets you disable this behavior so no TCP sockets are closed when connecting. You also have the option to turn this off in Preferences > Connection > Force close all TCP Sockets after connection

6aa326395c7c3c98707911282a5a9cdd2495c755?t=73d39a7994c3ca2e6b5f417c2f4ac95e